Permalink

The game is not available at the moment.

You can subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of its availability by entering your e-mail address under the "Newsletter" tab at the bottom of this page.

Permalink

Delivery of the the Kickstarter campaign pledges is underway and is expected to run until March 2024.


Please check our Kickstarter updates [https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/seriouspoulp/the-7th-citadel-explore-build-you-are-the-hero/posts] to see if the deliveries in your country have been completed. If they have, please feel free to contact us by e-mail at: kickstarter@seriouspoulp.com

Permalink

Despite all our efforts to avoid typos and errors, it's possible – given the sheer number of cards, dialogues and their interconnections – that you spotted one that we missed.


Should this happen, please check whether this error has already been spotted in the official errata of the game. If not, please let us know by sending an e-mail from the "contact" section.

Permalink

A user account enables you to post on the forum, get notifications on followed topics and subscribe to the newsletters of all our games.

Permalink
  • Watch the "Overview" video (https://7thcitadel.seriouspoulp.com/resources/videos),
  • Read the rules booklet,
  • Place the various components (cards, dividers, etc.) in the base box, taking care not to look at the contents of the Exploration (foggy back) and Adventure (green or yellow back) cards, the Threat booklets, and the Dialogue Book,
  • When you're ready, open the Introductory Scenario “A new beginning” to begin your adventure!
Permalink

This is not possible since you can only save the current game in progress. You can, however, have new players join your current adventure (see "Joining the adventure partway through" in the rules).

Permalink

Although you can play the Threats in any order, we advise you to play them in the following order:

1.    Dadachaem's awakening
2.    Drums of desolation
3.    The final throne (expansion)

Permalink

Except for the "On the edge of peril” expansion, which brings additional challenges and should only be added in once you have some experience of the game, all other expansions can be used from your first game. 

In any case, we recommend to store the expansion’s cards in the base box before starting a new Threat.

Permalink

The average length of a scenario varies between 1h30 and 3h00.

The average duration of a Threat is between 15 and 30 hours.

A saving system allows you to interrupt your game at any time in under 5 minutes, and resume it almost instantaneously when you're ready to continue the adventure. Saving is, however, limited to once per scenario.

Permalink

Some card numbers are not used in the game (or only in an expansion).

Each card has a unique ID number (on the back of the card, except for the Action cards – blue back – and Exploration cards – foggy back –, which carry their IDs on the front).

First of all, please refer to the complete list of cards to make sure you are dealing with a missing card: https://7thcitadel.seriouspoulp.com/resources/downloads


Some cards might get stuck together, so make sure that the missing card is not stuck to the previous or the next card. 
In addition, some numboxes (the icon containing an Adventure card’s number) are attached to a pictograph that means “take this Adventure card only if it is available”. If the card in question is not available, it is probably already in play, or has been discarded or banned, which would be why it cannot be found in the base box.

If you cannot find the missing card, please contact us using the following form, indicating which card you are missing, and in which language, so that we can send you a printable .pdf of the card: https://7thcitadel.seriouspoulp.com/after_sales//

Permalink

You need 1,329 card-sleeves to protect all of the cards in the base box and the expansions that are currently available.

However, 184 card sleeves are enough to protect the Action cards (blue back), which are the most frequently shuffled kind of cards. 

Permalink

It is indeed a compound action, but on a single row.

Compound actions are easy to identify, in addition to the slot for a die, they are placed within a frame that surrounds the line or lines in question.

Permalink

The card offers a "Think" action that can be performed like any other action, even while you read the Threat booklet. Therefore, unless stated otherwise, it is possible to perform this action during the Epilogue and/or during the “Preparation” phase of a scenario.

Permalink

If at any point all characters become unconscious, the adventure immediately ends in defeat. You have failed to defeat the current Threat.

Permalink

During the Result step, each success taken into account reduces the die's value by 1, regardless of whether the action succeeds or fails.

If the die’s value drops below 1, the action is successful, and you apply the consequence in the white section (success). Otherwise, the die’s value remains reduced, but you apply the consequence in the black section (failure).

Therefore, each failure can potentially make the action easier for the next attempt.

Permalink

Yes. Moreover, all characters present on the same Terrain card as the player who revealed it must get involved in it, and no player can perform another action before it is fully resolved (including those who might be on another Terrain card).

Permalink

When you put a Terrain card into play, you must immediately put Exploration cards (foggy back) into play on each free space to which an orange arrow points. Therefore, it may happen that two Terrain cards indicate different areas for the same Exploration card space. In this case, the applicable area is the one shown on the Terrain card that was put into play first.

Permalink

No. All World Map cards that can be flipped should be flipped all at once (i.e. simultaneously) at any point during the "Preparation" phase.

Permalink

Once you have finished a Threat, whether by victory or defeat, you must perform the following steps before starting a new one:

  • Return the cards that are in the Past and return banished cards,
  • Return the characters' Action cards,
  • Return the Purse, Quest item, and Global event cards,
  • Return the cards present in the World Map,
  • Archive (for reference) your Citadel Leaflet.

You are now ready to start a new adventure by reading the introductory scenario "A New Beginning".

NB: since the introductory scenario "A New Beginning" is not a Threat, you must not do this once you have finished it.
 

Permalink

In an action with multiple involved characters, only the active player can select Purse cards (during the Gear Up step), draw cards from their Action Deck (during the Draw step), and apply – with some exceptions – the effects of their Skill cards.

However, some Skill cards have effects that can be applied by an involved character that is not the active player. This is explicitly stated on the card, as is the case, for example, with the "Fortitude" card available in the starting deck of each character.

Moreover, many actions have effects that can be applied to the involved character of your choice or to all involved characters, so it is sometimes profitable to perform an action collectively.

Permalink

Returning a card means putting it back into its original deck. Be careful to respect the order of cards in the Adventure Deck, paying attention to green/gold backs and to flags (empty flag before flags containing an icon).

Discarding a card means placing the card either in your Discard Pile if it is an Action card (blue back), or in the Past if it is an Exploration (foggy back) or Adventure card (green or gold back).

Banishing a card means removing it from the game until the end of the current Threat. To do this, you must place it behind the "Banished cards" divider.

Permalink

Only if it is specifically indicated on the card ("Discard this card").

Permalink

No, only Purse cards. Skill cards can be freely used during the action (according to their effect).

Permalink

Regardless of your Knowledge score, you can always apply the effect of the second line, which allows you to return this card (and thus not have to perform the mandatory action).

Permalink

Regardless of your Knowledge score, you can always apply the effect of the second line, which allows you to return this card (and thus not have to perform the mandatory action).

Permalink

Regardless of your Knowledge score, you can always apply the effect of the second line, which allows you to return this card (and thus not have to perform the mandatory action).

Permalink

The text should read "Ignore Brutal" instead of "Ignore Ambush".

FAQs

General

Where can I get The 7th Citadel?

The game is not available at the moment.

You can subscribe to the newsletter to be notified of its availability by entering your e-mail address under the "Newsletter" tab at the bottom of this page.

I backed the game on Kickstarter but I did not receive my reward. What should I do?

Delivery of the the Kickstarter campaign pledges is underway and is expected to run until March 2024.


Please check our Kickstarter updates [https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/seriouspoulp/the-7th-citadel-explore-build-you-are-the-hero/posts] to see if the deliveries in your country have been completed. If they have, please feel free to contact us by e-mail at: kickstarter@seriouspoulp.com

I think I found a typo / error. What should I do?

Despite all our efforts to avoid typos and errors, it's possible – given the sheer number of cards, dialogues and their interconnections – that you spotted one that we missed.


Should this happen, please check whether this error has already been spotted in the official errata of the game. If not, please let us know by sending an e-mail from the "contact" section.

Why should I create a user account on this website?

A user account enables you to post on the forum, get notifications on followed topics and subscribe to the newsletters of all our games.

Game

Where to start?

  • Watch the "Overview" video (https://7thcitadel.seriouspoulp.com/resources/videos),
  • Read the rules booklet,
  • Place the various components (cards, dividers, etc.) in the base box, taking care not to look at the contents of the Exploration (foggy back) and Adventure (green or yellow back) cards, the Threat booklets, and the Dialogue Book,
  • When you're ready, open the Introductory Scenario “A new beginning” to begin your adventure!

Is it possible to play several Threats (campaigns) simultaneously with a single box?

This is not possible since you can only save the current game in progress. You can, however, have new players join your current adventure (see "Joining the adventure partway through" in the rules).

In what order do you recommend playing the Threats?

Although you can play the Threats in any order, we advise you to play them in the following order:

1.    Dadachaem's awakening
2.    Drums of desolation
3.    The final throne (expansion)

Should I include the expansions in my first game?

Except for the "On the edge of peril” expansion, which brings additional challenges and should only be added in once you have some experience of the game, all other expansions can be used from your first game. 

In any case, we recommend to store the expansion’s cards in the base box before starting a new Threat.

What is the average duration of a scenario / a Threat?

The average length of a scenario varies between 1h30 and 3h00.

The average duration of a Threat is between 15 and 30 hours.

A saving system allows you to interrupt your game at any time in under 5 minutes, and resume it almost instantaneously when you're ready to continue the adventure. Saving is, however, limited to once per scenario.

Contents

I think I’m missing a card. What should I do?

Some card numbers are not used in the game (or only in an expansion).

Each card has a unique ID number (on the back of the card, except for the Action cards – blue back – and Exploration cards – foggy back –, which carry their IDs on the front).

First of all, please refer to the complete list of cards to make sure you are dealing with a missing card: https://7thcitadel.seriouspoulp.com/resources/downloads


Some cards might get stuck together, so make sure that the missing card is not stuck to the previous or the next card. 
In addition, some numboxes (the icon containing an Adventure card’s number) are attached to a pictograph that means “take this Adventure card only if it is available”. If the card in question is not available, it is probably already in play, or has been discarded or banned, which would be why it cannot be found in the base box.

If you cannot find the missing card, please contact us using the following form, indicating which card you are missing, and in which language, so that we can send you a printable .pdf of the card: https://7thcitadel.seriouspoulp.com/after_sales//

A component is missing / damaged. What should I do?

Please contact us using the following form: https://7thcitadel.seriouspoulp.com/after_sales/

How many sleeves are needed?

You need 1,329 card-sleeves to protect all of the cards in the base box and the expansions that are currently available.

However, 184 card sleeves are enough to protect the Action cards (blue back), which are the most frequently shuffled kind of cards. 

Rules

Is an action with a slot for a die and only one action line considered a multiple action?

It is indeed a compound action, but on a single row.

Compound actions are easy to identify, in addition to the slot for a die, they are placed within a frame that surrounds the line or lines in question.

Can the action on the "Hope reborn!" cards be performed at any time?

The card offers a "Think" action that can be performed like any other action, even while you read the Threat booklet. Therefore, unless stated otherwise, it is possible to perform this action during the Epilogue and/or during the “Preparation” phase of a scenario.

What happens when all characters are unconscious?

If at any point all characters become unconscious, the adventure immediately ends in defeat. You have failed to defeat the current Threat.

How do you reduce the die’s value in a compound action?

During the Result step, each success taken into account reduces the die's value by 1, regardless of whether the action succeeds or fails.

If the die’s value drops below 1, the action is successful, and you apply the consequence in the white section (success). Otherwise, the die’s value remains reduced, but you apply the consequence in the black section (failure).

Therefore, each failure can potentially make the action easier for the next attempt.

When I have to perform a mandatory action, do I have to do it immediately?

Yes. Moreover, all characters present on the same Terrain card as the player who revealed it must get involved in it, and no player can perform another action before it is fully resolved (including those who might be on another Terrain card).

How do you put into play an Exploration card that is shared by two terrains each indicating a different area?

When you put a Terrain card into play, you must immediately put Exploration cards (foggy back) into play on each free space to which an orange arrow points. Therefore, it may happen that two Terrain cards indicate different areas for the same Exploration card space. In this case, the applicable area is the one shown on the Terrain card that was put into play first.

Can you flip World Map cards at multiple moments during the "Preparation" phase of the scenario?

No. All World Map cards that can be flipped should be flipped all at once (i.e. simultaneously) at any point during the "Preparation" phase.

What to do before starting a new Threat?

Once you have finished a Threat, whether by victory or defeat, you must perform the following steps before starting a new one:

  • Return the cards that are in the Past and return banished cards,
  • Return the characters' Action cards,
  • Return the Purse, Quest item, and Global event cards,
  • Return the cards present in the World Map,
  • Archive (for reference) your Citadel Leaflet.

You are now ready to start a new adventure by reading the introductory scenario "A New Beginning".

NB: since the introductory scenario "A New Beginning" is not a Threat, you must not do this once you have finished it.
 

How does an action with multiple involved characters work?

In an action with multiple involved characters, only the active player can select Purse cards (during the Gear Up step), draw cards from their Action Deck (during the Draw step), and apply – with some exceptions – the effects of their Skill cards.

However, some Skill cards have effects that can be applied by an involved character that is not the active player. This is explicitly stated on the card, as is the case, for example, with the "Fortitude" card available in the starting deck of each character.

Moreover, many actions have effects that can be applied to the involved character of your choice or to all involved characters, so it is sometimes profitable to perform an action collectively.

What is the difference between RETURNING, DISCARDING, and BANISHING a card?

Returning a card means putting it back into its original deck. Be careful to respect the order of cards in the Adventure Deck, paying attention to green/gold backs and to flags (empty flag before flags containing an icon).

Discarding a card means placing the card either in your Discard Pile if it is an Action card (blue back), or in the Past if it is an Exploration (foggy back) or Adventure card (green or gold back).

Banishing a card means removing it from the game until the end of the current Threat. To do this, you must place it behind the "Banished cards" divider.

When I apply the effect of a Skill card from my hand, do I have to discard this card?

Only if it is specifically indicated on the card ("Discard this card").

Should I select Skill cards (for which I want to apply the effect) during the action's Gear Up step?

No, only Purse cards. Skill cards can be freely used during the action (according to their effect).

Cards

ID A0457 green Adventure card no. 057 – Clarification

Regardless of your Knowledge score, you can always apply the effect of the second line, which allows you to return this card (and thus not have to perform the mandatory action).

ID A0463 green Adventure card no. 063 – Clarification

Regardless of your Knowledge score, you can always apply the effect of the second line, which allows you to return this card (and thus not have to perform the mandatory action).

ID A0471 green Adventure card no. 071 – Clarification

Regardless of your Knowledge score, you can always apply the effect of the second line, which allows you to return this card (and thus not have to perform the mandatory action).

ID A0079 Skill Card X "Sneak Attack" – Erratum

The text should read "Ignore Brutal" instead of "Ignore Ambush".

Dialogues